BOOK YOUR VISIT        DONATE         CONTACT
  • Home
  • Virtual History Forge Transcription Sessions

Virtual History Forge Transcription Sessions

  • Sat, December 19, 2020
  • Sat, December 18, 2021
  • 25 sessions
  • Sat, December 19, 2020, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, January 09, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, January 23, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, February 06, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, February 20, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, March 06, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, March 20, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, April 03, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, April 17, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, May 01, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, May 15, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, June 05, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, June 19, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, July 10, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, July 24, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, August 07, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, August 21, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, September 11, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, September 25, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 09, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 23, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, November 06, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, November 20, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 04, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 18, 2021, 11:00 AM 1:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Online


Help build the HistoryForge database! We've transitioned our transcription bees to virtual group sessions online while our community is practicing physical distancing for public health and safety.

Please complete the Volunteer Application here: https://forms.gle/HQ3LKQX8QPc76MnA9 for access to the Zoom conference link. To help with our behind the scenes processing of volunteer materials, please complete the volunteer form at least 4 days before the session.

HistoryForge is a digital mapping and transcription project from The History Center in Tompkins County. We need help digitizing information from the 1940 Ithaca census to add to our HistoryForge database! Volunteers will read through the handwritten census notes from 1940, re-type/and or scan information about individuals, buildings, and businesses from that time period.

YOU WILL NEED: A laptop or desktop computer, stable internet connection

HistoryForge is a digital history project from The History Center in Tompkins County which combines historic maps and photos with census records of the people who lived in Ithaca, creating a way to visualize the history of Ithaca in the early 1900s. Learn more about the project here: thehistorycenter.net/historyforge and the start of our database creation here: www.historyforge.net

Not available Saturdays but interested? Contact Eve at HistoryForge@thehistorycenter.net

HistoryForge is made possible by generous support from the  National Historical Publications and Records Commission. 

Physical Address

Located inside the Tompkins Center for History & Culture

110 North Tioga Street

(On the Ithaca Commons) 

Ithaca NY, 14850 USA

Gayogo̱hó:nǫ' Territory

Hours

Exhibit HallWednesday-Saturday 10am-5pm - CLOSED Sun-Tues

Cornell Local History Research Library & Thaler/Howell Archives - By appointment only. Please contact archives@thehistorycenter.net

Contact                                                     

Email: Refer to Contact page for individual emails, General inquiries to community@thehistorycenter.net

Phone: 607-273-8284

Web: thehistorycenter.net

Find us on social media @tompkinshistory




© Copyright 2021 The History Center in Tompkins County

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software