TOURS       GIVE  

 CONTACT      ACCESSIBILITY    

  • Home
  • Visit the Exhibit Hall

Visit the Exhibit Hall

  • Wed, September 07, 2022
  • Sat, December 31, 2022
  • 68 sessions
  • Wed, September 07, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, September 08, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, September 09, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, September 10, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, September 14, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, September 15, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, September 16, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, September 17, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, September 21, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, September 22, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, September 23, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, September 24, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, September 28, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, September 29, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, September 30, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 01, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, October 05, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, October 06, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, October 07, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 08, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, October 12, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, October 13, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, October 14, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 15, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, October 19, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, October 20, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, October 21, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 22, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, October 26, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Thu, October 27, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Fri, October 28, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Sat, October 29, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-02:00)
  • Wed, November 02, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, November 03, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, November 04, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, November 05, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, November 09, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, November 10, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, November 11, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, November 12, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, November 16, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, November 17, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, November 18, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, November 19, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, November 23, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, November 24, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, November 25, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, November 26, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, November 30, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, December 01, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, December 02, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 03, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, December 07, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, December 08, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, December 09, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 10, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, December 14, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, December 15, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, December 16, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 17, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, December 21, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, December 22, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, December 23, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 24, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Wed, December 28, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Thu, December 29, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Fri, December 30, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Sat, December 31, 2022, 10:00 AM 5:00 PM (UTC-03:00)
  • Tompkins Center for History & Culture - 110 N Tioga St, Ithaca NY 14850


Walk through local stories and discover the history of Tompkins County

Open Hours

Our Exhibit Hall is open Wednesday-Saturday 10am-5pm throughout the year. 

Suggested Donation
Adults: $10
Child: $4

BOOK IN ADVANCE

Scheduling in advance secures your space during your requested time, but the Exhibit Hall will still be open to other visitors. If you would like to schedule a private visit with masked staff please contact community@thehistorycenter.net

**Research visits to the Archives & Research Library must be scheduled separately by emailing archives@thehistorycenter.net**

How long should I plan for?

We suggest planning for at least an hour to explore the Exhibit Hall, but you may stay as long as you like. We encourage everyone to also explore the Community Arts Partnership Gallery, TCHC Community Tower Exhibit (rotates every three months) and Downtown Visitors Center located on the first floor.

Visiting the Exhibit Hall

The History Center is offering in-person visits to our state-of-the-art Exhibit Hall including our Timeline Tunnel, Story Vault, Eight Square Schoolhouse Replica, access to our six exhibit towers, and a close look at our 104 year old Tommy Plane! Private visits with only your group can be reserved in advance, walk-in's can be accommodated most days (W-Sat 10am-5pm).

Our current exhibit 'reCOUNT: Facing our Census' will be on display April 2022-December 2022. Learn about the exhibit at thehistorycenter.net/reCOUNT

Our museum is open and accessible to everyone and we offer a number of accessible options for visitors with specific needs. Learn more at thehistorycenter.net/accessibility

If a member of your group has sensory sensitivities or physical/visual/auditory limitations please reach out to us with any questions or concerns about our exhibits and the space. We're happy to offer adjustments and options to ensure an enjoyable visit for everyone.

Request an Exhibit Hall Scavenger Hunt, coloring pages, or museum activity sheet from the front desk when you check in for added fun for all ages!

Our suggested admission price is $10 per adult, $4 per child. Your contribution is important for our continued ability to provide a public educational space within the community. No one will be prevented from visiting due to an inability to pay. Donations can be made during booking or in person.

All visitors are encouraged to wear masks inside Tompkins Center for History & Culture. Our visitors include young audiences and others who are unable to be vaccinated. We appreciate your respect and awareness in supporting our Health & Safety Protocols to keep museum visits worry-free and accessible for everyone.

Museum staff sanitize all touched surfaces in the museum daily. Review our full safety procedures at thehistorycenter.net/health

*We try to accommodate visiting groups outside our normal operating hours when possible. Please contact community@thehistorycenter.net if you'd like to visit the museum or schedule a group field trip outside our normal operating hours. *

Health & Safety

The History Center is requesting that all visitors continue to wear masks inside the Tompkins Center for History & Culture. Our visitors include young audiences and others who are unable to be vaccinated. We appreciate your respect and awareness in following our Health & Safety Protocols to keep all our visitors safe.

If you are concerned or are particularly vulnerable to the virus, please email us and we are happy to schedule private visit for you to explore the museum in a worry free way. Your comfort and safety is our number one priority!

History Center staff will sanitize all touched surfaces within the Exhibit Hall daily.

Please do not schedule a visit if you or any member of your group are awaiting results from a COVID-19 test due to symptoms or potential exposure, or were recently in close contact with someone who tested positive for the virus.

.

LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Our museum is located in the traditional and contemporary lands of the Gayogo̱hó:nǫ' Nation (often known by the mispronunciation Cayuga), one of the Six Nations of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy. Learn more at thehistorycenter.net/land-acknowledgment.

Physical Address

Located inside the Tompkins Center for History & Culture

110 North Tioga Street

(On the Ithaca Commons) 

Ithaca NY, 14850 USA

Gayogohó:nǫˀ Territory

Hours

Exhibit HallWednesday-Saturday 10am-5pm - CLOSED Sun-Tues

Cornell Local History Research Library & Archives - By appointment only. Please contact archives@thehistorycenter.net

Contact                                                     

Email: Refer to Contact page for individual emails, General inquiries to community@thehistorycenter.net

Phone: 607-273-8284

Web: thehistorycenter.net

Find us on social media @tompkinshistory




© Copyright 2020-2022 The History Center in Tompkins County

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
Visit Us